Celebrate the Birthday of Dr. Seuss through
Read Across America on March 2!

 

Children across the country will pay tribute to beloved children's author, Dr. Seuss, on his birthday, March 2 and in the process, celebrate a love of reading! 

Read to Succeed Buffalo joins the National Education Association to promote a day of reading, green eggs and ham and all things Seussical! 

The Read Across America campaign will showcase Dr. Seuss' book, The Lorax as well as NBC/Universal's The Lorax, opening in theatres nationwide on March 2!

The initiative is an annual reading motivation and awareness program that calls for every child in every community to celebrate reading on March 2, the birthday of beloved children's author Dr. Seuss.

Read to Succeed Buffalo, in partnership with EPIC, will host a Read Across America program at the East Delavan Library on March 2 from 10 AM - noon.  All are welcome to participate!

If you are interested in reading "The Lorax" to a classroom of children as part of Read Across America, contact one of the participating organizations below. 


St. John Vianney
Learning Resource Center
2950 Southwestern Blvd.
Orchard Park, NY 14127
Dianne Brinkworth674-9232/SJVLRC@gmail.com


Harvey Austin Elementary
BPS#97

Adrienne Spurio, 
Literacy Coach,
816-4460


EduKids Orchard Park

25 S Lincoln Avenue
Orchard Park   14127
Jackie Mann/ Mary Jonmaire
662-5982 


EduKids Hamburg               

4885 Lake Shore Road
Hamburg, NY  14075
Julie Beale
627-3074 


EduKids Lancaster            
1767 Como Park Blvd.
Lancaster   14043
Tammy Wagner
685-0729


Edukids West Seneca         

3585 Seneca Street           
West Seneca  14224        
Kim Stewart
675-4553                  


Edukids Clarence                 

8750 Sheridan Drive         
Williamsville   14221         
Paola Falsone
632-6953                  


EduKids Rich's Family         

1200 Niagara Street                      
Buffalo   14213                   
Patricia Vega
878-8006 or 8007    


EduKids CrossPoint             

600 CrossPoint Pkwy.     
Amherst   14068                  
Elizabeth Cercone
568-1141 


EduKids Niagara Falls Blvd.         

2715 Niagara Falls Blvd.  
Amherst, NY  14228
Kimberly Swiatek
204-3506                  


EduKids Hertel                      
1350 Hertel Ave.                
Buffalo   14216                   
Sara Kane
332-9500                  


EduKids French                     

111 Kelly Drive                   
Cheektowaga 14227         
Shari Frascella
677-4063                           


EduKids Maryvale                 

777 Maryvale Drive           
Cheektowaga 14225         
Ashley Chenier
626-9126                  


EduKids Elma                         

6961Seneca St.                 
Elma, 14059                                   
Pamela Arena
652-1890                  


School #4

425 South Park Avenue
Buffalo, NY
Melinda Hill
816-3330
mjhill@buffaloschools.

Bethel Head Start
1424 Academy
1424 Jefferson Ave
Buffalo, NY 14209
Linda Wright
878-0227
lwright@bethelheadstart.or

Bethel Head Start
1485 Academy
1485 Jefferson Ave
Buffalo, NY 14209
Linda Wright
878-0227
lwright@bethelheadstart.or

Bethel Head Start
EOC Academy
465 Washington Ave
Buffalo, NY 14203
Lisa Mattucci
849-9473
lmattucci@bethelheadstart.org

Bethel Head Start
Flar Academy
307 Leroy Ave
Buffalo, NY 14214
Cheryl Manney
878-0232
cmanney@bethelheadstart.org

Bethel Head Start
GKA Academy
2056 Genesee St
Buffalo, NY 14211
Mary Msuku
896-1551
mmsuku@bethelheadstart.org

Bethel Head Start
Harlem Rd Academy
4255 Harlem Rd
Amherst, NY 14226
Kaitlyn Adelizi
839-3507
kadelizi@bethelheadstart.org

Bethel Head Start
IOP Academy
921 Cleveland Dr
Cheektowaga, NY 14225
Dawn Thompson
631-5200
dthompson@bethelheadstart.org

Bethel Head Start
Langfield Academy
175 Oakmont Ave
Buffalo, NY 14215
Jennifer Norris
833-8337
jnorris@bethelheadstart.org

Bethel Head Start
St. James Academy
500 Terrace Blvd
Depew, NY 14043
Dana O'Leary
681-2625
doleary@bethelheadstart.org

Bethel Head Start
UB Academy
3435 Main St Annex B
Buffalo, NY 14214
Jennifer Hudy
829-5957
jhudy@bethelheadstart.org

Catholic Academy of West Buffalo
1069 Delaware Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14209
Karla Menchette
KMenchette@cawb.org
(716) 885-6111

Belle Center
Laurie Beck
Lbeck@thebellecenter.org

(716) 352-0685

 

 

 

St. John's Grace Church
51 Colonial Circle
Buffalo NY 14213
Site Coordinator: Ashley Hansen
ahansen@cembuffalo.org
725-2492

Buffalo Hearing & Speech Center

50 E. North Street

Buffalo, NY 14203
Matthew J. Hitchcock, M.S. Ed.
Coordinator of Literacy and Specialized Programs

885-8318 x2300
mhitchcock@askbhsc.org
 

 

 

 

 

 

Volunteer

Read to Succeed Buffalo is looking for volunteers aged 50+ to help tutor small groups in Buffalo Public Schools. Click here to learn more.

Parents

Parents have the power to give children a strong start in school. Click here for tips to help your child love reading!  Read more.

News Articles